Municipal election set April 6 at Baldwyn Fire Department

There is only one precinct in Baldwyn for this primary election.

All voting in Baldwyn’s 2021 municipal primary election to be held Tuesday, April 6, 2021 will be handled at the Baldwyn Fire Department at 202 S. Second Street, shown above. News photo/Jason Collum

Voters in Baldwyn who haven’t submitted an absentee ballot by the deadline Saturday will go to the Baldwyn Fire Department on Tuesday to cast ballots in the municipal primary races.

City Clerk Nan Nanney said there will only be one polling place for this election, with tables set up for each of the city’s four wards. Residents who are unsure which ward they live in will be able to confirm it with a map at the poll.

City residents will have a full slate of contenders for city races this year as as every local race is being contested.

All candidates qualified on the Dem­ocratic ticket, meaning each race will ei­ther be decided either in the April 6 primary or in the April 27 runoff. None of the city races will advance to the June8 general election.

In the race for mayor, three-term in­cumbent Mayor Michael James is once again facing a challenge from Roslynn Clark. Clark ran against James in 2017, with James narrowly defeating Clark then.

Alderman at Large Lynda B. Conlee is being challenged for the position by Sherri M. Buse.

In Ward 1, incumbent Lee Bowdry is being challenged for the post by An­geleque Agnew Beene and Rhyne How­ell.

In Ward 2, incumbent Tom Nelson is being challenged by Pamela McKinney Green and Tonya Goodwin Billips.

Ward 3 will be guaranteed a new al­derman as incumbent Barbara Warren opted to not run again for the position. Those looking to succeed Warren include Lamar Anderson, William “Bird” Agnew, Peggy Grice, Lakeisha Eades Isabell and Phil Rowan.

In Ward 4, Tammie C. Waters and Beverly Eckford are chal­lenging incumbent Ricky Massengill for the post.

In the race for Police Chief, incum­bent longtime chief Troy Agnew has at least one challenger, Roy Ragin.

The poll will open at 7 a.m. on Tuesday and close at 7 p.m.